The Past.

I grew up in a small southern Oregon town located about 4 hours south of Portland, OR. I graduated high school in 1995 and like many people from my town at the time, I went to work in a plywood mill. At twenty years old I managed to achieve a substantial yearly income. Then at twenty-four years old, the company I worked for went out of business.


I then spent a year in construction followed by a year in yet another plywood mill. I had no desire to continue working in mills so I found a job as a commercial truck driver for a local ice company. I had a great boss, good co-workers and decent pay. However, after a few years and a company buyout, I decided it was time to move on.


So now at thirty-one years old, I decided to join the Army. I found myself jumping out of planes, training hard, and living the military life. My first deployment was 4 months after I arrived at my first duty station. I spent the next year in Iraq. At my 2.5 year mark I was promoted to Sergeant. Soon after, I deployed to Afghanistan for another 6.5 months. By the time we came back, I was nearing the end of my contract, and I decided it was time to start a new chapter of my life.

After I left the military, I chose to pursue a degree in Computer Science. I graduated in 2017 with a Bachelor's of Science in Computer Science from Portland State University. I discovered a passion I did not know I had. I found that I love to build things with code. I am constantly researching topics, trying to learn new skills, and refining old ones. I love to learn and luckily Computer Science is a field where the learning never stops. No really, literally, never...ends. As a professor once told me, "You'll never know everything about Computer Science, you won't even know everything you'll need to know to do your job". However true this may be, I am determined to know as much as I can. I find I gravitate towards those with more knowledge than I in order to learn what they know. I also love sharing knowledge that I may have that another person doesn't. I feel like it's my way of paying back the people that have helped me learn. I take pride in my work, and do my best to write clean, readable, and maintainable code.

The Present.

I currently reside in Colorado Springs. My workday consists of solving GPS software issues. In my free time I try to attend interesting Meetup groups (although it has been awhile since Colorado Springs doesn't have a lot to offer for this). I also spend time making sure I relax and rejuvinate. Whether that means exploring a new spot in the area, or lounging around the house. I believe ensuring I get this time helps to prevent burnout and keeps me productive at work and in my personal life.


Additionally, I have been working on learning Clojure. In fact, this site was written using Clojure, TailwindCSS and Sass!! For now, I will continue learning Clojure, then eventually will start move on to Clojurescript. Clojure is the first language that I feel at home with and I hope to continue building my functional skills as well as someday be able to write clean, concise, and idiomatic Clojure code.

The Future.

I'd love to continue to learn and grow as a developer and be able to contribute to interesting software. I am always on the lookout for ways to further my career, meet smart and knowledgable software engineers, and find new and exciting opportunities. I also hope to travel more, locally and overseas. Ireland is definitely on the top of my travel list!